AdvanceVT office in 134 Burruss Hall

AdvanceVT Office
AdvanceVT Leadership Team 2004

Virginia Tech received an ADVANCE Institutional Transformation grant from the National Science Foundation in 2003 to initiate AdvanceVT, a program to increase the participation and success of women in academic science and engineering careers by changing institutional culture and practices. The university has incorporated AdvanceVT-initiated programs and policies across the institution.

Programs during the grant funding period targeted graduate students preparing for faculty careers, new faculty starting tenure-track appointments, senior faculty preparing for leadership roles, search committees, department heads, and senior administrators.

Elements of AdvanceVT include:

Loading player for
advance_proposal.pdf 2001 proposal to NSF that resulted in funding to create AdvanceVT